D&D 5e now has a release schedule. Below are the key dates, plus summaries about the Basic PDF and Player’s Handbook.

  • July 15th — Basic Dungeons & Dragons – 96 pages; free
  • July — Icons of the Realms Starter Miniatures Set – Minis for first two 5e adventures
  • August 19th — Players Handbook – 320 pages
  • August 19th — Hoard of the Dragon Queen Adventure – 96 pages. Level range: “The first book goes from level 1 to level 7 or 8 (depending on how the DM and players go through some sections).
  • September 30th — Monster Manual – 320 pages
  • October 21st — The Rise of Tiamat Adventure – 96 pages. Level range: This one goes from levels 8 to 15.
  • November 19th — Dungeon Master’s Guide – 320 pages
  • January 20th — Deluxe DM Screen


Basic D&D is a PDF that covers the core of the game. It’s the equivalent of the old D&D Rules Cyclopedia, though it doesn’t have quite the same scope (for example, it won’t go into detail on a setting). It runs from levels 1 to 20 and covers the cleric, fighter, rogue, and wizard, presenting what we view as the essential subclass for each. It also provides the dwarf, elf, halfling, and human as race options. In August, with the release of the Player’s Handbook, Basic D&D will expand to include the essential monsters, magic items, and DM rules needed to run the game, along with the rules for wilderness, dungeon, and urban adventuring. (The Starter Set already covers the aspects of these rules that you need to run the included campaign.) As WOTC introduces new storylines like Tyranny of Dragons, they’ll also make available free PDFs that provide all the rules and stats missing from Basic D&D needed to run the adventures tied into the story. The adventures released as part of Tyranny of Dragons are playable without requiring any of the core rulebooks or the Starter Set. With just the Basic Dungeons & Dragons rules, you can play D&D for years. (Source:

Classes in the PHB are Fighter, Rogue, Cleric, and Wizard], the Monk, Ranger, Paladin, Barbarian, Bard, Sorcerer, Warlock, and Druid.
Races are Human, Elf, Dwarf, Halfling, Half-Orc, Half-Elf, Gnome, Tiefling, and Dragonborn. Plus Drow as a subset of Elves – there are at least two rubraces per race. (Source: